Creating My First Soap

Research is an absolute must to become a successful soapmaker.  My first batch was made in a pot held between my legs, stirred with a spoon.  This method can takes hours to trace (combining the oils and lye water to a point they will not separate).  We, or maybe it was just I, had not discovered that stick blending will reduce trace time to minutes. I made a half batch of the recipe below with no fragrance.

Can you be a crafter and have not watched Martha Stewart’s former TV show?  To this day, I have many of her craft innovations.  On this particular show, she discussed the benefits of Savon de Marseille and how to make it.  There’ll be a blog post about Savon de Marseille later.  Her list of supplies came from “The Sage” full name Majestic Mountain Sage.  The Sage is a supplier to the handcrafted soap industry.  In addition to raw materials, they have a large list of recipes for soaps and bath product submitted by customers.  Thank you to The Sage for helping me create my first soap back in the day.  I still make and sell that soap.  It’s also my go-to recipe when I test new fragrances.  The recipe below was added on November 4, 1997. Visit https://www.thesage.com/

Three Oil Soap

8 oz wt Coconut Oil

8 oz wt Palm Oil

32 oz wt Olive Oil

18 fl oz  Water

6.5 oz wt Sodium Hydroxide

To my revised recipe and quantities I added shea butter, jojoba oil, and castor oil.  With my soap batter finished I added my fragrance, Patchouli & Honey, a sample received from another supplier.  My first handcrafted soap was complete.

Shea & Jojoba - Patchouli

Patchouli & Honey has remained a fall and winter favorite.  It’s an earthy scent with the sweet essence of honey.  It’s definitely not your grandmother’s Patchouli.

The soap recipe above is incomplete for the beginner. You should understand basic soapmaking procedures before attempting to make soap.  Visit “The Sage” for complete detailed instructions.

Leave a Reply

